Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: The 5th printing of Core and "The State of Hacking" update
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Solstice
hey I've been aware from SR for a few years, my last game was when 4e just came out. I have the core book, street magic, runner havens, and First Run. I just ordered all the rest of the available books including Unwired.

MY questions are

1. Does the 5th printing of the Core book contain the errata?

2. Is "hacking" still an unescapable morass of rules creep death that is better suited to being glossed over by the GM?

Feel free to fire away with any input you'd like regarding hacking in general.

It's not a slam against the hacking rules but I was a bit overwhelmed just by what was in the core book (I know it's basic). I'd rather know more now as opposed to when I start the game back up.

*EDIT* Just wanted to add that i started playing in 2e.

Thanks in advance. cyber.gif
sunnyside
Well obviously unwired isn't out yet. EDIT: PDF is out. I need to pay better attention, just the tree version you can't get.

But hacking is much much better and faster in SR4 as opposed to earlier editions. Most of the time a hack consists of maybe a couple electronic warefare rolls to pinpoint the signal you need to hack from the camera/guy/drone whatever. Then you roll to get in, GM rolls to detect the hacker and usually they just get in and do something.

The biggest issue, that will hopefully be resolved in unwired, is that they don't really spell things out. Meaning the hacking environment in one GMs campaign will be very different than anothers, and there may be inconsistancy about things like what happens when you crash an IC from game to game.
Muspellsheimr
The 5th printing includes all to-date errata, and then some. ~5 months and they still have not gotten around to updating the errata...