Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New to Shadowrun
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
HunterXDR
Hey there,

I'm new to Shadowrun so I have a few character creation questions. I bought the 3rd edition main book. I am looking at the character creation system and it's all based on priority. I was at gencon and I was told there was a point system also somewhere. I can't find this point system character creation in the main book though. I believe I was told standard starting characters are like 125 points or something.

If anyone has any info on this it'd be a great help.

Thanks
K
Tanka
The BP (Buy Point) is shown in the Shadowrun Companion, and suggested characters are 123 points, but most people tend to go to 125 to make a character comparable to Priority.

2 BP for 1 Attribute Point
1 BP for 1 Skill Point

10 BP for Elf or Troll
5 BP for Dwarf or Ork
+5 BP for Metavariant
+10 BP for Ghoul
+30 BP for Otaku
25 BP for Shapeshifter

30 BP for Full Magician (25 Spell Points)
25 BP for Aspected Magician (35 Spell Points)
25 BP for Adept (Power Points equal to Magic Rating)

-5 BP for 500 nuyen
0 BP for 5,000 nuyen
5 BP for 20,000 nuyen
10 BP for 90,000 nuyen
15 BP for 200,000 nuyen
20 BP for 400,000 nuyen
25 BP for 650,000 nuyen
30 BP for 1,000,000 nuyen
HunterXDR
great, thanks for the quick reply. Any chance you would know how many points are given per level...I know shadowrun doesn't really have levels and you go by karma. like 1 karma = 10bp or something like that?

Thanks
K
Tanka
In Chargen, karma doesn't really apply to anything. It only does if you're using BeCKS, which we won't get into.

There is no universal equivalent for Karma, unless you allow Cash for Karma, which, if I remember (Somebody correct me if I don't) is 25k nuyen for 1 Karma.
Herald of Verjigorm
Karma is used for all in-game advancement (well, nuyen.gif for some).

A magical character can buy functional karma at 25,000 nuyen.gif each.
Tziluthi