Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: RPGs of yesteryear
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > General Gaming
Pages: 1, 2
Synner667
I've been enjoying RPGs as a Player and a Ref for 20+ years and I've been involved with many RPGs.

I've still got almost all the RPGs I've bought over the years [and bizarrely, my house has much less room than I remember it to have - connected ??]...
...And sometimes I'll flick one open and have a read.

And often find myself engrossed in RPG books from anything upto 20 years ago...
...Sometimes reading rules and thinking of new ways to apply those rules in a different way, and sometimes just remembering a time when those rules or sourcebook were used.

Anyone else re-visit old rules and/or sourcebooks and using them again ??
Do they seem archaic, or fresh and usable ??
Do you think differently about them, than you did in the past ??

Just thought I'd ask...
Dumori
I've found old RPGs make you shake your head at how stupid some parts are or you're amazed why that idea never caught on.
Zhan Shi
I'm a big nostalgia junkie. I love re-reading old Dragon magazines, not necessarily for game info, but just for the sheer pleasure of it. The old AD&D stuff has that certain something which a lot of newer RPGs seem to lack, at least from my point of view. But I suppose every generation feels that way, whether it be about RPGs, movies, music, etc. I was toying around with the idea of playing old AD&D modules using Basic rules. However, I am not at all familiar with Basic D&D, so I don't know how feasable this would be. I got the idea after speaking with a bunch of old gamers; they raved about how Basic had the terrific fantasy "feel" of Advanced, but without all the detritus (as they put it).
shadowfire
i have looked at some of the older rpg and said to myself, " why is this not around anymore"?