Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Defense Magic
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
ClearlyPixelated
I'm looking for help to a strong build for defense magic. I have a feeling that my DM is going to run us through a hell hole and I'm looking for a way to, well, not die. I know that there are some good spell lists/builds out there that are beefed up for defense magic...I am fairly new to the whole Shadowrun world, so would you help a girl out?
Tarantula
Mana barrier.
Counterspelling.
Magical Guard from spirits.
Arcane Arrester.
Mana static.
Jaid
tarantula has given you some excellent tools for defending against magic... did you mean defense against magic, or magic that is defensive in nature?
Ol' Scratch
Yeah, are you going for a character who's simply good against magic, or a magician who specializes in counter-magic?

For the former, nothing beats a metavarient or Class III Changeling with Arcane Arrester, Astral Hazing, and an Essence of 0.01-0.99. With their Essence at that rating, their Astral Hazing won't affect anyone but themselves (unless they mill around the same place for two to three hours (and even then it's purely at the GM's fiat). Those metagenic traits combined make you all but impervious to magic. Even a Force 12 spell is being treated as a Force 2 or Force 4 (depending on how your GM applies the effects) spell by you. Give yourself a high Body and Willpower score and you're set. Doubly so if you have a magician on your team who puts a few dice of counterspelling on you.