Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: [SPOILER] Emergence Missions and Events
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
jmkeown
I'm a new SR4 GM, with plenty of experience running everything else (DnD, HERO, DH, GURPS, etc) but SR. I've been gaming since 1986, and now find myself with this monumental task of making Emergence work for my players. I want this to be one that's remembered as "one of the all time great campaigns." As we've been together since '87 or so, you can imagine what's before me to impress these folks with.

I've gone off the rails a bit, trying to link the various events into one vast conspiracy, with an NPC duo (Anslem, a Christian Theurge and Marlowe, his Elizabethan-speaking Ghoul assistant) directing the 'runners to clues found in the book. Occasionally, I'll run one as a seemingly-random event or a run drawn from some other source, but I want to stick to Emergence as my main plot.

Would anyone care to discuss how they handled this book?
Ancient History
I made an electronic music piece narrating the intro fiction for the last chapter of the book. Came out fairly well.
Stahlseele
is there anything you did NOT do at least once concerning shadowrun? O.o
Ancient History
Never had sex with someone while LARPing Shadowrun. Yet. Good things come to those who wait.
Dashifen
Short version:
I worked the events of Emergence into an entirely different campaign that I was running at the time of the book's release.

Long version:
The players were sent to Hong Kong to retrieve some incense that was required as a component to an enchantment that an NPC was performing. While they were in Hong Kong, it just happened to be the day that the TMs escaped and the city descended into chaos. They actually ended up assisting both TMs and MCT by the end of that little scene, IIRC.