Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Do bound spirit categories only apply for the "aid" services?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
vollmond
Still being new to Shadowrun, some of the simpler things take a while for me to figure out smile.gif

Does the spirit's category (combat, illusion, detection, etc) matter for everything I ask it to do? or just if I'm using the aid sorcery/spell sustaining type power? IE, can I send my Illusion category spirit into combat?

I had assumed I could only use an Illusion spirit for Illusion-type tasks, but after rereading the rules I'm not sure.
Sir_Psycho
I'm not a magic expert, but I've never seen such an arbitrary restriction placed on spirit use. In fact I've never really understood why tradition's spirits have been classified as such. I just assumed it was a suggestion of what those spirits are best at.
vollmond
Unfortunately, my whole group (including GM) is learning Shadowrun from the beginning. As the sole magician, I get to learn all the intricate spell/spirit rules. Always glad to find out my interpretation of RAW is wrong, especially when it helps me biggrin.gif
Sma
The Category is only important for the Aid Sorcery / Spell Sustaining service.
Dragnar
What Sma said.
Basically it's only important wether your tradition has a specific type of spirit at all, for regular use it doesn't matter which category the spirit relates to. That's mostly for fun and fluff (and the bound spirit services which explicitly mention that restriction).
vollmond
Wow... this just opens up a whole new world biggrin.gif thanks!
Dr Funfrock
Actually, as a GM who's been playing around with ways to give more character to spirits, the idea of using category as a sort of rough roleplaying guide for spirits of that tradition is kinda cool.