Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How to organize stats as a GM?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
manimal
Hello,
I recently started playing SR 4th after many years of not playing any pen and paper rpg's. I was wondering how you GM's organize your stats during battles so that everything is kept track of? Right now during a battle it takes me a ridiculously long time to apply all the modifiers, keep track of bullets, armor etc. I am constantly getting flustered with all of it. Is there some way to organize everything so that it becomes more intuitive? Or perhaps maybe a computer program that helps?
Thanks a lot!
shadowfire
I don't play fourth, but this may help, if you can find a copy of it. In 2nd edition in the back of the core book there was a sheet that had NPC condition monitor, stats, and notes. I use this for NPCs and PCs alike, cause i like to keep track of the PCs health myself and do all those pesky rolls that slow the game down some times. If you can find it it may work out for you.
Ryu
I use this one: Aaron´s Grunt Record Sheet.
Sma
I do it two ways, grunts and other unimportant npc's do not get stats. They get a dicepool ranging from 4-8 that is supposed to include "minor" modifiers like recoil for the second shot and movement. Global modifiers like darkness can be subtracted beforehand so during combat I only have to track wound modifiers and modifiers that get afflicted to them by the players.

I don't use damage tracks but instead draw little triangles, with each side being equivalent to one box. A full triangle means -1 to all actions. 3 triangles is the latest point where they'll drop and that's only in case of highly motivated grunts.

Ammunition does not get tracked. Instead they get turns of shooting, but with magazine sizes being where they are and the shortness of SR combats it's seldom that this even becomes a point.