I'm new to DS but I'm aware that this topic has come up before. I've done a search on it and found a few threads but most degenerate into flames and/or move off topic. I'd like to discuss the topic and perhaps come to an understanding of why certain game design choices were made.

The topic is this: What were the goals behind how much cyberware/bioware cost in essence and how much adept powers would cost?

I'll start by stating that my opinion is that bioware essence costs are exceptionally low. This discussion covers primarily physical-oriented characters and their representation across various concepts. There may be other disparities, but I'd like to concentrate on this one for now. I base this opinion on the following:

Magical enhancement and cyber/bioware enhancement are presented as being comparable (among physically oriented characters) in the setting, and so they should be comparable in the rules as well. I don't mind that bioware is more efficient at gaining raw attributes than the other methods, and I don't mind that magical enhancement is better at gaining skill enhancements. However, attributes have been given a much larger role in the outcome of skill rolls in SR4. They are equal to skills in a singular roll, though apply to a much broader range. With that in mind, it seems odd that the costs in essence for attributes would be so low as compared to the magical cost of a skill increase. Also, with the large amount of other 'ware and adept powers to define the various methods to "physical power" (for lack of a better term), why choose to make such a large imbalance in the basics (attributes/skills.) To be honest it appears that the core rules were changed (that is, static TNs and attribute+skill rolls) but little thought was given to changing adept powers, cyberware, and bioware to suit the new changes.