Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Enemies Too Easy?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
Hankinstien
Greetings all,

I'm new to forums but new to Shadowrun as well. I don't have a whole lot of gaming experience (I've played a lot of D&D4e) so I'm like a total newbie to you guys, but me and my friends really like the world of SR so wanted to give it a try, I'm GMing.

We went through "Food Fight" and did one other run I wrote, and all the PC's were built with the 400 build point system.

The problem (and maybe it's not a problem) is that the enemies I put in get killed really fast -- it seems like maybe it's too easy for the players, and there's not much of a sense of danger.

I've been using Corpsec guards from the BBB, and I used some of the Sample Characters in there as well.

Chewing through 6 Corpsec guards went fast, and even when I threw the sample Street Samurai at them he died in like two turns.

It seems like it should be harder than this, am I doing something wrong, or do I just need to put some tougher enemies in there? My PC's are all at starting level, so I was expecting more of a challenge for them. Especially from a built sample character (which should be at the level of Prime Runners, right?)

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks!
Wombat
Try using the terrain to your NPC's advantage, taking cover can reduce the lethality of the PC's ranged combat abilities. Surprise and opportune reinforcements can add to the threat level, especially if it entails media coverage or surveillance recordings. Alternatively, you could bring down the power level of the PC's. What do your PC's base DV and Combat pools look like?
Naysayer
First, Shadowrun is, or can be, pretty deadly. Usually, it boils down to who fires first. Getting hit with a burst from a submachine gun is very very bad for you. You should try to avoid that.