Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Is healing too fast ?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
PatB
I'm new to SR4. Been playing SR1, 2, & 3, dropped for a few years for D&D, then started reading SR4. The system seems a LOT more cleaner and simpler.

One thing (out of many) come to mind: how fast are character healing ?? Using basic math, with someone with 10 physical boxes and Body 4, and nearly dead with 8 boxes filled.

To keep this simple, let's use the automatic hit rule. In the end, after receiving several bullets, the character is on his feet, scratchless, in 4 days (2 hits per extended day test using Body x2).

Am I missing something or players are fast healers ?!?!

Thanks a bunch
Adarael
You're not wrong. That's the way it works in 4th Edition!
I personally really like it this way. In a world where there are cloned replacement parts, nanotech, magical shock-healers on staff, and treatements to reset your age... Why shouldn't medical care be ridiculously effective? It helps games stay fun - no more 'I'm out for 3 months healing!' - and it adds to the awesome of the world.

Like the Daft Punk and Kanye West song goes, "Work it, make it, do it, makes us longer, better, faster, stronger."
hobgoblin
i was about to point towards the healing modifiers, but then i spotted that the basic healing rules say nothing about those being used. only with first aid and medicine rolls does it say that the modifiers should be applied.

still, i would say that those modifiers should be used, as something simple as staying at home with no medkit will strip 4 dice out of that extended test. and if one is cybered to the max, its even worse.

optionally, one can extend the basic healing timeframe to week or month rather then the day its defined as...
BlueMax
QUOTE (PatB @ Mar 6 2009, 11:01 AM) *
I'm new to SR4. Been playing SR1, 2, & 3, dropped for a few years for D&D, then started reading SR4. The system seems a LOT more cleaner and simpler.