Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mutual funds
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Snow_Fox
We hear a lot about the AAA corps and their subsidaries in Sr, stocks and info and all that fun but do you think there will still be mutual funds?

For those who don't know in RL I'm a licenced trader. What made me think of this was the other day i was talking with my mother and commented that 'we' owned a particualrly large company (No I'm not saying which one there is a real question of propritary knowledge here ) My mother raised an eye brow. "Own?"
I poinited out that we had $1 Billion in their stock, 'oh.' Which leads me to wonder about mutual funds and their undiciplined sister, the hedge fund.

Even if you cna't buy enough stock in a particular AAA corp or even AA stock to make a differnece, couldn't a mutual fund. (only a fund calling itself diversified has to worry about limits of stock held in a particularly company)

another example was in the first season of ghost in the shell, a hedge fund based on rare wines. (I'm gonna call that one a way risky investment and if any of you ever are sitting in my office as a client, I'm not buying it for you.
Backgammon
I think SR is run by hedge funds.

Mutual funds? I think they'll be out of fashion.
Larme