Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Noob augmentation questions
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
toolbox
Hi everyone, first post here.

I'm a total Shadowrun noob. I'm currently playing a technomancer in a friend's game, and I like to think I'm doing reasonably well at it, but by the character's very nature he's hyperspecialized in one particular area (hacking, obviously). To broaden my system familiarity a bit, I've decided to make another character that lives in a completely different region of the rulespace. In full '80s nostalgia mode, I want to try to put together a corp ninja, stuffed to the eyeballs with non-cyber augmentation to assist in his dual roles of infiltration and silent, close-up killing.

I'm still totally unfamiliar with the nuances of the various augmentation types though, so can someone give me a quick rundown on the meaningful general differences between bioware, genetech and nanotech augmentation? Is one category better for my purposes? Is a mixture of types in a single character advantageous or a waste of essence/nuyen? Why? Any info you can provide along these lines is a big help.

Thanks.
Blind Guardian
There are certainly advantages to combining different kinds of augmentations to maximize the effectiveness of your character. For one thing, the devs have built a discount into the way you calculate your essence loss for having multiple types of augmentation. Cyberware and Nanoware are added together, and Bioware and Genetech are added up separately. Whichever total is higher is deducted at full cost from your character's essence score. You only subtract half of the lower total. This will allow you to fit in more augmentations overall depending on how you balance it.