Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Astral Signature
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Dr. Dodge
I was thinking about astral signatures today and was trying to figure out how useful they would be in court/law proceedings. Basically my problem is since you can't really replicate a signature for everyone to see, how can it be used directly against you? The jury/judge would just have to take the word of the forensic magician i would imagine. Like "expert testimony." I am no law expert, but it seems kind of flimsy to me. Maybe it can only be used as supporting evidence?

i like question marks?
Ancient History
It's not permissible in every legal system, and in general it does require expert testimony. Unless you can take an astral photograph of it.
BlackJaw
Well the average person has no way to examine genetic evidence either, so for many modern court cases that use it, you have to bring in experts that claim to have done a genetic test and compared a few samples.

They would then provide nice big pictures of the compared DNA markers to show off how they are similar or the same.

Something similar could be done with the "Quicksilver Mana Sensitive Film Camera" in Arsenal (page 67).

"Laddies and gentleman of the jury, you've heard testimony that the assailant had a blue hazy astral signature? Well we had our Manatech experts take an astral photo of the accused, and as you can clearly see, it is a blue hazy aura."

Not exactly the same as genetic data, but if magic is proven and accepted in a court of law, then this would work towards making it more visible to normal jury members.
Dr. Dodge
QUOTE (Ancient History @ Jun 11 2009, 03:16 PM) *
It's not permissible in every legal system, and in general it does require expert testimony. Unless you can take an astral photograph of it.

yeah i was kind of ignoring the astral photography angle, it's new so i havent decided if i like it yet wink.gif
Dr. Dodge
QUOTE (BlackJaw @ Jun 11 2009, 03:17 PM) *