Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: I'm a mechanic with no car knowledge
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Red-ROM
If you have an active skill (like auto mechanic)

but take no knowledge skill in it, and you want to make conversation or observations about cars, can you roll your active skill? do you have to default? this might not be the best example, but do you see where I'm going with it?
nezumi
I believe SR3 either specified, or it's a commonly held houserule, that you have automatically have a knowledge skill equal to the active skill by the same name (since it's unusual that you are able to do something, but don't know how to do it).
Dragnar
If it has something to do with fixing cars, it's part of "automotive mechanic". If you know how to do it, you can talk about it, so a conversation about why the new Ares engine is superior to the one mitsuhama threw on the market last year is fine.
Now, if you'd want to know about famous car races, car manufacturers, car-related triviva or whatever, that's something else and that would be its own knowledge skill.
Meatbag
To me, Knowledge skills represent deeper knowledge than the practicalities, but you can certainly hold your own in shop talk with Automotive Mechanic.

I have a greasemonkey in the family, and while he can fix and diagnose a wide array of problems, he's not an engineer. When asked how long the fan belt on an '84 Ford is, he simply replied "lemme get the tape measure and find out."

He's seen enough bad examples to know what works, but he can't identify specific brands and models from passing engine noise.
Ravor
Aye, although I would say that your family member does indeed have some knowledge skills related to cars, just self taught and at fairly low levels.
DireRadiant
Intuition or Logic + Active Skill
or
Draco18s
Sure, you can talk about cars. You can talk about cars all day.