Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Help Needed With Elf Mage Character
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Bugfoxmaster
Hello all!
I'm new to Dumpshock, and was looking for some tips on a character I'm making for a campaign that's starting soon.
So far, my character's an Elven Black Mage, with the Made Man and Enemy (10 BP) Qualities (for background reasons). He also has to be the face for the party (as well as magical support), and I was thinking of specializing in manipulation spells, like Control Thoughts and Influence.
Does anyone have any good tips on what to add to this guy, like what gear to get at CharGen (we're using the standard 400 BP from 4A edition), or what attributes and skills I should focus on? Also I could use some help figuring out what spells to get, since I've got little experience with that side of Shadowrun. If any more information is needed, like background or something, I'd be happy to give it. We're playing in a pretty professional campaign, so if the Pink-Mohawk/Crazy stuff could be avoided, I'd be much obliged.
Thanks for any help you can give!
Ravor
Be advised that mind rape mages should be fairly distrusted, even by yuor own teamates, after all, how do they really know that you aren't screwing them over?

*EDIT*

Also don't be afraid of cyber/bio.
Bugfoxmaster
Hah, I know he'll be distrusted - in fact, it's rather questionable whether he IS screwing with them...
But I'm planning on at least trying to keep him in a balanced place where he doesn't overtly use mind-rapery, even around his team-mates, unless it's absolutely necessary. That way, I'm figuring I can put them off from realizing it for as long as possible...
Ravor
Aye, just be prepared for your teammates to blow your head off the moment that you slip up and they realize that you are a mind rape mage, even without evidence that you are messing with them. cyber.gif
Bugfoxmaster
Is it THAT taboo, to the point of being a 'boom-headshot' trigger?