Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: More reasonable future swearing
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Tyro
I was reading this thread and someone pointed out that swearing in the future should follow changed cultural influences. As I have no working knowledge of Japanese or Northwestern Amerind languages and my knowledge of Spanish is mostly academic (for some reason college classes skip over slang - a stupid way of doing things in my opinion), I find myself in need of some experts. This being dumpshock, the most culturally diverse forum I've ever come across, I figure someone here will have good knowledge of these and other languages' gutterspeak.

Limited discussion or debate is fine ("I like drek for English-speaking games set in Germany"), but please try to stay on topic: I want words your mother would punish you for even knowing. Creativity is encouraged; single words are fine, but phrases are better, especially with examples for proper use.
Khyron
Most of the modern cursewords have been around for many centuries, I doubt they're going to suddenly vanish in 70 years.
tsuyoshikentsu
I'm having trouble accessing the site -- I'm beginning to suspect that Delta censors their in-flight wireless -- but insultmonger.com is the site for you.
Tyro
QUOTE (Khyron @ Aug 24 2009, 02:14 PM) *
Most of the modern cursewords have been around for many centuries, I doubt they're going to suddenly vanish in 70 years.

I'm not saying they will; I'm saying extant curse words from other cultures will become more common in the UCAS. Polyglot culture and all that.
BlueMax
QUOTE (Khyron @ Aug 24 2009, 01:14 PM) *

I would counter this argument but my argument would be old and tired. Instead, I will just use some of my favorite curse words.

BlueMax
/the gray hairs have won
Brazilian_Shinobi
I'm from a portuguese-speaking country. Portuguese and spanish have enough similarities and culture background to have close curse expressions.
Here are some of them: