Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: I wish I could buy Drinks that cheap!
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Eugene
Picked up SR4A the other day, leafing through the pages, saw the p.49 Underworld 93 prices, and laughed. 4 nuyen for Scotch? 3 nuyen for a glass of wine? If only we in the real world were so lucky.
Alexand
You forgot the 4 to 1 Conversion for UCAS dollars to nuyen.

So actually thats a $16 glass of scotch, and a $12 glass of wine (I presume the it's the average/cheap stuff). If your paying more than that at a RL bar, you might want to find a new place to drink chummer.
AllTheNothing
QUOTE (Eugene @ Aug 25 2009, 05:34 PM) *
Picked up SR4A the other day, leafing through the pages, saw the p.49 Underworld 93 prices, and laughed. 4 nuyen for Scotch? 3 nuyen for a glass of wine? If only we in the real world were so lucky.

You take what you pay for, I'm not an expert of Scotch but I can tell that there's some wine sold around that's dirty cheap (and usualy tastes awfully); are we sure that they don't mean Scotch flavoured beverage?
Kerrang
QUOTE (Alexand @ Aug 25 2009, 10:38 AM) *

So actually thats a $16 glass of scotch, and a $12 glass of wine (I presume the it's the average/cheap stuff). If your paying more than that at a RL bar, you might want to find a new place to drink chummer.

Just what I was gonna say. In my local bar, a decent glass of scotch (15yo Glenlivet) is about $5. Given the prevalence of synthahol in the SR world, a decent glass of real scotch would likely come in around the price noted above.
Blade
QUOTE (Alexand @ Aug 25 2009, 05:38 PM) *

Except that you forgot the 1 to 4 conversion rate from USA dollars to UCAS dollars. wink.gif