Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Build Challenge: Hacker vs Technomancer
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Mister Book
I would like to see people's optimized Hacker and Technomancer builds. Straight out of the book, the best at what they do and why.

I am new to Shadowrun 4th edition and from what I gather by looking over the forums here, they archetypes in the book are not all that great.
Fezig
With the examples in the original SR4 book, it is not a question of quality but a question of legality. The ones in the book just plain don't work.
Mister Book
QUOTE (Fezig @ Aug 30 2009, 04:04 PM) *
With the examples in the original SR4 book, it is not a question of quality but a question of legality. The ones in the book just plain don't work.

How so?
Fezig
Sorry about that, I forgot my post is now misleading. I have one of the core books from the first run, before the errata fixed the fact that several of the examples did not add up to the correct BP. If you have any remotely recent book/pdf to look at you may disregard my comment. I'm just used to having to give my new players that warning when they borrow my dead tree copy.
Mister Book
Huh, well okay then. I guess I will take the Ork hacker, de-orkify them and spend the extra BP to resources.
Mister Book
However, if others want to post their builds on here, I wouldn't be opposed wink.gif

I mean, a two page thread about vampires and sex? There's hope for my thread yet! wobble.gif
eidolon
Building a hacker:

Step one: Choose a metatype.
Step two: Buy 250k¥
Step three: Buy the best commlink, OS, and all programs at the highest legal starting ratings. Buy a couple of agents.
Step four: Buy the Electronics and Cracking groups at 4 (very cost effective), unless you specifically want to kick major ass at one particular skill (not as cost effective and will required thinking).
Step five: Get the chargen legal ware that ups your Matrix speed.