Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Recoil
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Tyro
I've read the section in the BBB, as well as several threads here on Dumpshock and the official FAQ. I just want to make sure my interpretation is correct. The only threads I found on the subject were old enough that a new thread seemed to be the best option. I create a lot of characters, but I have ZERO game experience, so please bear with me.

QUOTE (SR4A 144 under "Combat Turn Sequence")
Combat Turns may be broken up into a series of Initiative Passes if any characters have the ability to take extra actions in a combat turn. The point during each Combat Turn when a specific character can act is called an Action Phase.

QUOTE (SR4A 152 under "Recoil")
Weapons that fire more than one round in an Action Phase suffer from an escalating recoil modifier...

QUOTE (Official FAQ)
Recoil compensation only applies once during an entire Action Phase. In other words, each point of Recoil Compensation counteracts 1 point of Recoil modifiers for that entire Action Phase.

QUOTE (SR4A 153 under "Burst-Fire Mode")
...The first burst fired in an Action Phase inflicts a -2 recoil modifier, the second inflicts an additional -3 recoil (neutralized by recoil compensation, of any).

So... if I fire two different weapons with two different Simple Actions, does the uncompensated recoil for each apply to that weapon only or to both? For example, let's say I have RC 2 on 2 different SMG's. I fire a short burst from each. The next pass, I do the same again. Is it:

A) (Recoil tracked separately per weapon, RC regenerates between passes)
Phase 1: 0 recoil on weapon 1, 0 recoil on weapon 2
Phase 2: 0 recoil on weapon 1, 0 recoil on weapon 2

B) (Recoil not tracked separately per weapon, RC regenerates between passes)
Phase 1: 0 recoil on weapon 1, 1 recoil on weapon 2 (since that's the second burst of the Action Phase)
Phase 2: 0 recoil on weapon 1, 1 recoil on weapon 2 (ditto)