Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Idea for first encounter?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
RedKnightSpecial
My campaigns first session starts tommorow. The campaign will be based in New Orleans, and the beginning time frame is during Mardi Gras. The players have never played SR before, and this is my first time with the players. I can't figure out a good way for them to get used to the rules without them flipping out and killing a crowd of people. They are very eager to use their new trolls with autocannons! Weren't we all the first time we played?

The only idea I have so far is having them get hired to act as the Mr. Johnson(s) for another team, because the real Mr. J is too intimidated t do it himself.

Anyone else have some good get-together idea?
TinkerGnome
Maybe they're all in town for the festival and a string of brutal police murders is being perpetrated. For one reason or another, they get picked up for "questioning" and end up in the same paddy wagon. However, on the way to the station, something happens and they get free (probably killing the cops in the wagon, too). Knowing that they're going to be blamed, they run for it. The heat gets on pretty quickly, and they have to stick together for survival.

Somehow, they need to find the real killer and/or escape the city. The real killer is probably a corrupt Petro Voodoo Houngan (Baron Samedi worshiper, maybe) who is setting the PCs up to take the fall for his crimes as part of a macrebe prank. While they flee the city or look for him, he makes certain that the cops are always just one step behind the PCs.

I'd be careful of giving them actual criminal records, etc, but it could still be quite fun.
DigitalMage
QUOTE (RedKnightSpecial)
They are very eager to use their new trolls with autocannons! Weren't we all the first time we played?