Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Hurdles: First time with new players
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Joe Chummer
I haven't played Shadowrun in years -- mostly due to lack of a steady group of players -- but the 20th Anniv. 4th Edition book really gave me the itch to start up again, and I'm working on cobbling together a group of players.

Here are the hurdles I have to overcome, and I'm not sure exactly how to get around them, since I've been off the horse for so long:

1. None of my players have played SR before. I've got a solid handle on GMing (which was my primary job back in the day), so I've got that covered, but it's been about 12 years or more since I had my last group of newbies. Back then, I was a newbie too, so I was learning along with everyone else.

2. My significant other has never played ANY pen-and-paper RPG before, so she's rather hesitant to play ("I don't think I'm that creative," she says). She's interested in being a technomancer, so I'd really like to convince her she doesn't have to be an Oscar-winning actress to enjoy the game.

3. One guy (the husband of a prospective player) supposedly hates SR (although I'm not sure why). I figure either he's played and doesn't like the game, or he knows about it only by reputation and wrote it off (one of those narrow-minded, Gibsonian, purist "I don't want any elves in my cyberpunk, thank you" sort of people). Any ideas on how I might be able to convince him to join us? A husband/wife player combo would be a welcome addition to the group.