Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Another New Player
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
The Stray7
So, I used to be a GM for [The Game That Causes Cancer], and a bunch of RL stuff hit me all at once. One of the players in my game group pitched the idea of running a Shadowrun Game for us while I relax and take the player's seat.

I've had some experience with SR, but not much. I played a short-lived game back in the 3e days, I took a brief look at the Shadowrun CCG, and we took a look at the new 4e book when it came out, but no long-term games came from any of those, so I'm feeling a little lost. Not as lost as some in our group (as I have a little experience with the setting and I've played enough RPGs to pick up the basics of how the mechanics work), but enough to be a bit nervous.

So I ask you, what are some problems newbies like me are likely to run into, and how can I avoid them?

For reference, I'm playing Jester, the group's street shaman and only full magican.
Khyron
Common problems:
1. Crazy Maths and stuff
2. Having to roll more D6's then you can hold in two hands.
3. The entire party relying too much on a single character ie: expecting the hacker to do everything

Common Solutions:
1. Study Hard, Maths is your friend.
2. Either use a dicebot script or roll them in a cup or something. Seriously sometimes the D6's get out of hand.
3. Lazy player syndrome. Multiple solutions.
Udoshi
In shadowrun, there are many different game styles. Some people play straight by the book. Most Gm's house rule stuff to fit their worldview, say if they read a rule and go 'wait, that's stupid, let me fix it', then they tend to do so. Wheras in D&D, a player might say to a gm 'hey, this class ability doesn't work like it should!', and a gm will often go 'Yeah? That's what the book says, deal with it'.