Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Are SR clubs real
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Bones
Hello all, I'm fairly new to dumpshock but I'd have to start off by tipping my hat to everyone who makes this a great site. The amount of info that I have gleaned from it has been invaluable. But anyway on to the purpose of this post.
This may seem a bit strange but are there any SR style clubs in actual existance? When I say club I mean some place with loud techno/rock (Prodigy possibly) that harbors all of the hacker/outcast/... you get the idea right?
Siege
Sure -- except for the metahuman focused ones, naturally.

-Siege
Backgammon
Don't get out much?
Siege
QUOTE (Backgammon)
Don't get out much?

Probably underage.

-Siege
Aidley
I was going to say 'if you don't know, you shouldn't know' but 'probably underage' works just as well.
Kagetenshi
The true hackers won't be in a club. They'll be in a BBS that isn't on the web and is available only through dial-in to a modem bank.

~J
Mongoose
There's certainly a lot of techno oriented clubs with various "themes" like hell, apocolyps, robot-sci fie, etc. But they are defiantley a minority, and are (I'm told) more common in Europe than Americs. American clubs exist to sell booze, and people go to them looking to convince themselves they might get laid. Or to do / score drugs.
Zazen
If you check out a hacker convention or a 2600 meeting, you'll see why there aren't hacker nightclubs. There is a certain truth to the dweeby stereotype.
Crimsondude 2.0
QUOTE (Mongoose)
There's certainly a lot of techno oriented clubs with various "themes" like hell, apocolyps, robot-sci fie, etc. But they are defiantley a minority, and are (I'm told) more common in Europe than Americs. American clubs exist to sell booze, and people go to them looking to convince themselves they might get laid. Or to do / score drugs.

So Europeans don't try to get laid in clubs like Kapital or Pacha?

Hmm.
Connor