Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: The Anatomy of a Matrix run
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Joe Chummer
Bear in mind that I'm new to SR4. I love how the Matrix rules have been streamlined compared to 2nd and 3rd Edition, but I'm just not 100% sure how to use them.

Let's say I want to hack into the node/nexus/site for Aztechnology's Magical R&D division, and I'm sitting in a local coffee house. How exactly -- in game terms and mechanics -- do I go about doing this? Let's assume I don't yet know the direct address to this site (for obvious reasons), and the site isn't in an isolated, wired, off-the-grid network.
Weaver95
dammit. I can look into this further when I get home from work - I don't have my books here with me.

Weaver95
also - for the matrix (and real life internet) challenged, Hacking Exposed by Stuart McClure is a good place to start learning what it is to hack into a network. it's written in 'normal people' language and is laid out fairly well. it can give you some pointers on how hacking works in the real world. From there you can extrapolate into the matrix of 2072 with your own ideas.
Joe Chummer
QUOTE (Weaver95 @ Oct 11 2009, 09:54 PM) *
also - for the matrix (and real life internet) challenged, Hacking Exposed by Stuart McClure is a good place to start learning what it is to hack into a network. it's written in 'normal people' language and is laid out fairly well. it can give you some pointers on how hacking works in the real world. From there you can extrapolate into the matrix of 2072 with your own ideas.

Here's the start of what I mean.

1. If I don't know the node/nexus ID, I'm assuming I can't just browse for it; after all, AZT probably isn't going to broadcast their Thaumaturgical R&D address for everyone to find. That would be silly, right?