Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Another new player.
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Xahn Borealis
I'm brand new to SR and I was a fan of the Genesis and 360 games so I looked it up. Nearly a year later I've got PDFs of SR4, SR4a, Arsenal, Augmentation, Unwired and OTR. I've also got a hardcopy of SR4 off ebay. I have no FLGS. I've never played a game. Could someone give some advice for finding players or a GM? I'd maybe like to get into a Pbp if that's the right term. I've got 4 characters already made.
  • Street Sam/Hacker/Covert Ops
  • Ex-Triad Paracritter-Hunter Mage
  • Ork Physad (needs history)
  • Technomancer Rigger

Any pbp games I could get involved in? Also, please tell me if I'm posting in the wrong forum, I've only been lurking dumpshock a couple of months now.
CanadianWolverine
What does "PBP game" mean? Play By Play?

Also, welcome to Dumpshock! I am a newbie to Shadowrun as well, though I only have the SR4 and the much improved newer SR4A books.

Hmm, how to find a GM/Players, that has been a challenge for me, it might depend entirely on your location in the world. Check out the GM/Players Registry part of the forum here in Dumpshock: http://forums.dumpshock.com/index.php?showforum=11 and pin yourself on the map in the top sticky and then see if anyone else has started a thread for your area - if not, start one. Then there was this: http://www.catalystdemos.com/ which I signed up on based on the advice of one of the Devs, sent out some messages to players nearby using that, no reply as of yet. And lets see, I think there was a thread started with a bunch of ideas somewhere around here ... ahh, here it is: http://forums.dumpshock.com/index.php?showtopic=24588

Hope that helps some. smile.gif
Xahn Borealis
QUOTE (CanadianWolverine @ Oct 19 2009, 03:14 PM) *
What does "PBP game" mean? Play By Play?

Yeah, I think so. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Play-by-post_role-playing_game
CanadianWolverine