Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New Player!
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
MDosantos
Hello everyone!!

I'm a new player to shadowrun, I've got the Shadowrun 4 20th Anniversary edition, I have little experience GameMastering, but so far I have been a player in Cyberpunk 2020, OWoD, NWoD, D20 Modern, Star Wars Revised and SAGA Editions, Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 and 4e, so I'm not new to RPGs.

Anyways I'm going to GM the game for 4 players who know nothing about it (rules-wise) I gave them the quickstart I found in shadowrun4.com and so far I've been reading the book (I'm halfway through "The Awakened World" chapter). So far I've found the rules a little bit complex, not too complex, but I can see myself referencing a lot on the books.

I don't know about the other players but so far there's going to be a hacker (not a technomancer) an a mage, possibly an adept too...

So what I'd like to know is:

1. What do you recommend for a group who's just starting to play.
2. Is there some sort of fanmade character generator (D&D 4e spoiled me).
3. Are there any cheat sheets I could use to get around the book referencing.
4. Any online or computer tool you'd recommend.
5. Should I be wary of any rules that might be problematic?

Thanks in advanced to everyone for your input, I'm really psyched about this game, gotta say I love the setting, any kind of help or input is welcome!
Iduno
Welcome.

2. Check the community projects section of the forum, there are several there.
3. These are pretty useful: http://pavao.org/shadowrun/cheatsheets/
Ayeohx
Welcome!

There is a wonderful spreadsheet character generator in the Community Projects section of the forums. I prefer the one DamienKnight is working on. Supersweet.

I don't know if Pavao's cheetsheets are updated for SR4A; I think they are still SR4 (old edition) and may have some different rules.