Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Remote Perception Tests via Drones
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Semerkhet
Please help me with the after action review of something that happened in my last session. I'm still new to SR4, so I'm not positive I handled things in keeping with RAW.

The setup:
The team is looking for a fairly distinctive BTL dealer in Redmond. They trade info with the Crimson Crush gang and get an address. There is a rival shadowrunning team already doing surveillance of the target with a rigger and a hacker holed up in a disused storefront a few blocks away. The hacker has hacked the target's commlink and is monitoring traffic. The rigger has a pair of MCT Fly-spy drones patrolling outside the target's apartment building.

How it goes down:
The team approaches to within a few blocks in their vehicle. The team hacker launches his own MCT Fly-spy to make a sweep of the area around the target's apartment building while the mage does the same in astral.

I decide that the hacker has a chance to spot one of the other MCT Fly-spy drones. Not knowing if there are any specific rules for setting the Threshold on a test like this, I decide that it's pretty hard and give it a Threshold of 5.

The hacker doesn't have a great Perception skill, so he tells me that he's piping the sensor feed from his drone to the image link of everyone else on the team (except the mage, who is still busy). I decide that this is okay and call for a teamwork roll rather than having everyone roll separately. Between the four helpers, the character with the highest Perception DP gets the maximum bonus allowed from the helping tests. He makes the test and scores 5 Hits. I tell him he's spotted a suspicious flying object. Several Complex Actions later, the hacker has identified the hidden nodes of the drones, intercepted the wireless traffic and decrypted the signal.