Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: spell casting foci & drain
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Saito
hi I just started playing 4th edition and I seem to have read that spell casting foci can be used for drain. Is this in the RAW or is it some old/house rule?

I also wanted to know if net hits on spell casting rolls always has to be resisted by drain? In some examples in the Annerversity rule book the threshold is increased by net successes in others they are not.

Any help is appreciated!
Tymeaus Jalynsfein
QUOTE (Saito @ Oct 22 2009, 03:00 PM) *
hi I just started playing 4th edition and I seem to have read that spell casting foci can be used for drain. Is this in the RAW or is it some old/house rule?

I also wanted to know if net hits on spell casting rolls always has to be resisted by drain? In some examples in the Annerversity rule book the threshold is increased by net successes in others they are not.

Any help is appreciated!

Apparently Spell Casting Foci being used for Drain has been Errattad out... teh only Foci I know of that helps with drain is the Centering Foci, but you have to be an initiate and have Centering (Metamagic) to use it.

Resisting Net Hits for Spells does not matter for Drain... Drain is F/2 +/- a Modifier, Net hits never figure into the equation unless you are using the Optional Rules that apply to Direct Combat Spells...

Keep the Faith
Saito
QUOTE (Tymeaus Jalynsfein @ Oct 22 2009, 11:05 PM) *
Resisting Net Hits for Spells does not matter for Drain... Drain is F/2 +/- a Modifier, Net hits never figure into the equation unless you are using the Optional Rules that apply to Direct Combat Spells...

Keep the Faith

As far as I can see the book says nothing about this being an optional rule. Were does this come from?
Tymeaus Jalynsfein
QUOTE (Saito @ Oct 31 2009, 04:30 PM) *
As far as I can see the book says nothing about this being an optional rule. Were does this come from?