Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Armor
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
blakmetalmedik
Hey dumpshock, I was wondering if anyone has ever had armor degrade over time/damage ? The reason I ask is I recently started running a game (my first time running a SR game). I have some playing experience so I am fairly familiar with the system, however, I've noticed in running it that damage resistance seems to be alittle awkward. Not to mention Armor is god. I seem to remember reading somewhere about armor taking damage to simulate real damage done to it, however, this might have been a houserule and can't remember it.
Tias
The rules suggest that if you glitch when resisting damage, the rating of the armor is lowered one to prevent structural damage. Seeing as this might happen now and again it's an okay solution - armor in 2072 could reasonably be expected to stand up to wear and tear a lot better than the stuff we have now, even if the weapons are bigger as well.

I think it should be up to the GM. If you soak up a heavy cloud of AP or take a direct hit from an assault cannon, your armor is likely to suffer, and the rules should not get in the way of portraying exciting, gritty combat.
Neraph
There's also a suggested rule that if the person in question takes any amount of physical damage, then the rating of his armor is reduced by one point. I personally like this rule.
Dave
I play 3E rules but I guess this can be used with 4E as well.

I use both random hit locations (using the old 6x6 Battletech grid system) and armour degredation. If you take a shot to the chest, the armour there degrades one point. Burst fire hits the same location, autofire...up to you, we don't use full auto.
the_real_elwood