Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What would happen if you crushed a vampires throat?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Lok1 :)
I was thinking about this for a while, what happend if one wished to fake the death or capture a vampire and attempted this one way or another?
I'm no expert and I'm not sure how this would work, the rules arn't super clear on this stuff so I thought I'd ask. Would a carfuly placed blow or just a bullet to the throught (not the jugular) kill the vampire before he intered dormancy? Would the wound heal before he went out, and if he did go dormant, would the wound heal itself than wake him up with oxygen.
Also on a related note, what would happen if a vampire had a wad of marshmellows stuffed down is throat at he started to choke?
Neraph
The question comes down to Regeneration. Can a vampire make a Regeneration Test while dormant? If no, then he can take 20k (that is, thousand) Physical damage and he's still "alive," as Regeneration states the affected character does not die until they get a chance to make a Regen Test. (In the above instance, a lot of Medicine would be used to remove that damage until into manageable levels, then the Vampire is taken out of dormancy. This also works with using an Allergic material to halt Regen Tests.)

EDIT: Also, you double-posted the thread.
djinni
magic
Ol' Scratch
Induced Dormancy only results in unconsciousness. Regeneration is an innate power that doesn't require consciousness. Crushing their throat won't do anything to them except, possibly, buy you a couple of seconds.
Mercer
I posted in the mirror (possible evil) thread, so I'll stick this in here as well. Some of my points were covered, but hey, that's what we get for having the same conversation in two different places: