Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie Questions
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Dave E
Hi all,

I'm Pretty new to the shadowrun thing, and had a few questions. I heard about shadowrun years ago(ver1), but never got to play. Now I'm involved with a group I met online, playing weekly. The GM has a VERY involved story line with tons of twists and underlieing forces. I'm trying to understand what exactually IS shadowrun. From what I can see, its not about building a super strong character and shooting everything in site.(tend to die, and will get boreing) Its not about just living as a non person, and never showing up on the radar.(boring) Its not just about Role playing a characters life.(tons of outlets for that)

The things I see that make shadowrun be shadowrun are times when things happen that make you say wow. IE: Getting into a bar fight, and taking out the troll bouncer by beating him senceless WITH the dwarven bartender. Talking your way out of the back of a LS patrol car after being arested for attempted murder, and ending up with the LS officers daughters phone number.(lot of good chr rolls on that one)

Am I right? Do we all play for the rare moments when the dice align?

Dave

Mr. Man
Breaking into the lab of a non-profit developing a methadone-like substance for rehabbing users of a street drug that a certain Seoulpa ring would like to remain popular.

Invisible facility security mage catches up to us when things go bad and my character is carrying an unconscious fellow PC. Failing his test my character shoots said teammate in the head, killing her.

So to answer your question:
QUOTE (Dave E @ Jan 2 2010, 01:58 AM) *
Am I right? Do we all play for the rare moments when the dice align?
Yes, but not necessarily the way you might think. The above run happened years ago, but I don't think I'll forget it any time soon. Easy victories and lucky rolls from the same era are mostly forgotten.