Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Creating a Rigger
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Ghremdal
Hello. I am new to the Shadowrun universe, and this is my second character made. So, if you would be so kind and tell me things that I missed in his creation. I was seeking to create a Rigger who has a good ride and is also competent with drones, while being semi useful in other things beside that. I am not seeking a very powerful character, more like a Jack of many trades.

[ Spoiler ]
Fix-it
needs moar contacts.
Heath Robinson
You probably want to replace the AK-97s on your combat drone with a belt-feed weapons. Only belt-feed weapons get access to the 250 round ammo bin that comes free with every weapon mount. Drones don't take recoil, so you needn't worry. You're using Arsenal, so go for the cheapest LMG you can find.

Instead of a pair of dissimilar combat drones, trying using a pair of Dobermans with Gecko Tips and extra armour. You save one locomotion type (2x Anthroform instead of Ground + Aerial) and they can go near enough anywhere as makes no difference. They are also significantly quieter than a Rotodrone, and small enough to fit in tighter spaces than Steel Lynxes. Having two drones with the same loadout gives you backup in case one breaks. If possible, have more.

I'd seriously advocate dropping Pilot Aircraft alongside the aforementioned switch to Dobermans. Those skill points should be going to your main Pilot skill or Gunnery. Your Fly Spy will have more than enough dice to throw for piloting just off Pilot + Autosoft, and there's no point investing 12 BP in a using 3 BP drone better.

I recall that Wired Reflexes and Reaction Enhancers do not stack due to the "initiative enhancers" line, though it seems that this is debated.

You don't have Autosofts. You want Autosofts.

You might as well get your Common programs at Rating 6 with Ergonomic + Optimised (1).