Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Adept Powers
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Pages: 1, 2
MikeKozar
I've been playing SR4 for a little over six months now, and almost all of the rules are starting to make sense to me. One archtype I just can't figure out is the Physical (or Mystic) Adept.

Don't get me wrong - I like the idea of the Adept just fine. A guy who is superhuman, who can drop into a room full of guards and KO them all in seconds, with the style and grace of a dancer. Badass. "What upgrades does /he/ have?" "That's all him." "Whoah." Being that guy is a happy thought. It seems like Adepts should also be able to build a Legendary Master Swordsman...the kind of guy who can move so fast he seems to disappear, maybe even dodge or deflect bullets.

Looking through the rules, though, Adepts don't actually get many real advantages. Almost all of their combat powers could be duplicated with cyberware, better and cheaper. I don't see any way to make an Adept a more dangerous combatant then somebody with a normal amount of starting cash and a willingness to lose Essence.

I gotta assume I'm missing something. Does anyone have an effective combat Adept powerset they could explain to me?
KCKitsune
Adepts can get powers that Street Sammies can not replicate with 'Ware. Things like Multi-tasking, Missile Mastery and Power Throw. Imagine this, The Adept (w/ Str 4) walks into a bar without a single weapon, but must defend himself. Take Missile Mastery and Powerthrow 3 (total Power point cost of 1.75) and he can now take a beer can and turn it into a 5P weapon... equal to a heavy pistol shot. How about this: Piercing Strike 3, Critical Strike 6 and Killing Hands gives you a Weapon that can hurt creatures with Immune to Normal Weapons, has an AP of -3 and Does 5P damage.