Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New Martial Arts thread..
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Solstice
Please feel free to comment on anything you feel needs improvement. I'm pretty new to the mechanics etc.

Savate

Savate is a fighting style originating in the backstreets and underworld of 17th century Paris. A conglomerate of techniques comprise this art, including open handed strikes, kicks, grapples, weapon use, and improvisation. The use of clubs, knives, canes, chairs, umbrellas and other improvised or common weapons is taught as well as kick boxing and grappling.

Advantages

Instead of choosing an Savate maneuver, a character using this skill may choose to use an already learned manuever using either the Clubs skill or the Edged Weapons skill (each melee weapon skill counts as a seperate maneuver).

A pracitioner of Savate may also execute learned melee maneuvers using an improvised melee weapon (see Canon Companion pg. 11).

Disadvantages

Because Savate is basically an evolved street fighting art, a character using this skill suffers a -1 die when attempting to use the Pull Punches, Subduing Combat or Full Defense melee options.

Maneuvers

Close Combat, Full Offense, Ground Fighting, Kick Attack, Sweep, Kip-up, Multi-Srike, Zoning

more to come later. Feel free to use/reproduce/modify in any way you want.
toturi
Pretty good, but it does differ the Canon savate quite a bit. Mayhap you can come up something in between? Say keep the emphasis on Kickboxing and add a little weapon training to flavour?
Solstice
Where is this "Canon Savate"?

What do you suggest I change? Maybe add a -1 TN to kick attack and sweep?

I made it this way so that I would have something to compare to the next MA that will be posted soon. It also emphasizes weapons.
sable twilight