Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Invisible and firing into cover
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
eiszeit
Hi there,

i am running my first SR4 campaign, my players have their first firefight, everything went fine, until the mage had to cast invisibility. Now she wants to fire at someone, who is sitting behind a car in good cover. If i am reading the rules correctly, the fact that he is sitting behind a car gives him no advantage whatsoever, because he cannot defend himself, as long as the mage can see any bodypart of him. Is that correct? How can that be?

I am no expert marksman or anything, but shouldnt it be harder to hit someone if you can only see his ear behind a wall as opposed to him standing right in front of you, regardless if he can move out of the way or not? Please tell me i am overlooking something, i generally dislike houseruling, but that seems like a very strange rule to me.

Thanks
Dumori
While normally the cover would give him a bonuses on his defense roll. How ever if surpised you don't get the roll. The are threes things you can do roll the bonus dice any way just the bonus dice this mean that the cover might take some damage off the attack or make the attacker miss completely. Two take the bonus dice from the attackers dice pool this was how cover used to be treated but they swaped it as it meant you needed not only stupidly big dice pools to attack with but glitches and crit glitches where more common. Three live with it the defended might pop round to take a shot and not know that hes in the mage's sights ect.
Wounded Ronin
Cars don't usually stop bullets, so maybe instead of affecting to-hit you could just have shooting through the car affect the damage code of the attack.
eiszeit