Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Shadowrun development future?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Malbur
So my search-fu fails tonight... but what's the future of shadowrun development? I'm new to the game and after some preliminary searching online and things i've seen on the dumpshock boards, it seems the development team had a minor (perhaps major) schism a couple of years ago... what does this mean? I love the game and feel its a fantastic split from traditional 'high fantasy' rpgs. While shadowrun will be played forever, is it at all likely that we will see no new developments beyond player modifications from here on out? Or is the development studio just going through a low point and we will see it continue to generate new materials?
capt.pantsless
QUOTE (Malbur @ Oct 15 2010, 11:01 PM) *
Or is the development studio just going through a low point and we will see it continue to generate new materials?

This. At least that's what it looks like.

Catalyst Game Labs just put-out the '6th World Almanac' and they had a large booth at this year's Gen Con in August. Shadowrun has been owned and published by a number of different companies, and it hasn't died yet. You never know, but I'd bet on Catalyst continuing to publish stuff.
Saint Sithney
Yeah, they've proven that they'll rip off their former writer's drafts in order to make sure that they won't fall behind schedule too much. scatter.gif
Angelone
Here I like what I see, no release dates yet though.
Prime Mover

Never any release dates until project is ready to release, thats standard policy. Although the Toolkit sounds like it may be next on the list to see release?
Angelone
Yes, the toolkit is next in the chute and it's "almost" done. War! and Attitude are next but from what I've gathered Attitude will come out first or is atleast closer to completion.
Prime Mover