Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Corporate Runs (how do I do it?)
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Relecs
Ed, Matt, Brendan, Sam, and Coral if you are about to read this DON'T

Hey Dumpshock

I'm preparing to run a game of shadowrun this weekend and I have started planning. In past shadowrun campaigns we've done a lot of street level runs with very little corporate interaction. This is about to change. I am fairly new to GM'ing shadowrun but after last weekends character creation I can see that most of the group has built runners more suited to the corporate world. So that said...How do I do it? How do you do it?

That said this is also a thread for general tips for planning games. I have planned the meet with the Johnson and the major goals they need to achieve. I know that if I have any plans for fights I should plan the enemies and I should plan out important npc's as well as maps of where the actual run will take place. Anything else?

The first run isn't going to be corporate but the next two I have planned will be the first will be extracting an ex-mitsuhama employee's daughter out of the enclave and the second is a data steal from inside an aztechnology pyramid. Any thoughts?

-Relecs
graymagiker
QUOTE (Relecs @ Oct 19 2010, 09:38 PM) *
How do I do it? How do you do it?

That said this is also a thread for general tips for planning games.

Here is my advice for what it is worth:

Do background planning. What are the J's motivations, is he just a cog in a corporate machine, is he personally invested in the run, would he personally rather see the run fail? Instead of planning events for the characters, make events that are taking place in the world. Events that involve the characters, but events that also involve other parts of the world.