Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Street Sam Hack Defense
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
klinktastic
I'm still pretty new to the hacking thing, but I have a street sam and I want to make sure he, his commlink, and his cyber accessories are safe from any external intrusion. I know that firewall 6 and encryption 6 are musts. I have electronics skill group, so I could make sure my cyber is clustered as a DNI to my commlink, protected by strong encryption, making it very hard to hack on the fly. Is there some simple agent programs that could be run to help prevent hacking as well? Also, what programs are needed and what can I do without? Should I even take any hacking programs? Or is it better to invest in a good IC program for defense?
sabs
What cyber do you have? Because that will help.

if you have no eye/ear cyber then I would recommend having 2 commlinks.

1, with wireless turned off, and skinlink installed, that has all your cyberware slaved to it.
the other, should be 4/4 with an Agent running analyze 4 (you can't get response 6 to start, so you can't run r6 software). Let your agent do your basic protection, and slave everything else to that commlink.
Doc Chase
I still don't understand why a piece of hardware that has worked just fine by the virtue of being wired directly to your nervous system now requires a commlink to function.
Summerstorm
There are pretty much just three things you can do (against a GOOD hacker - a bad one you can even defeat with high-rating programs):

First: Having high Firewall and Analyze (Run Analyze all the time) This makes it harde for them to get an admin or security account - if they hack on the fly)
Second: Have an agent run analyze on your comlink, searching for intruders (It gets to roll pilot+analyze against someone already IN your comlink)