Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Starting a free spirit for a long running game
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Seth
My GM is about to start a new campaign (the last was non-shadowrun and lasted 4 years). We play most weeks for a few hours. I have played and GMed on and off for about 5 years since Shadowrun 1, and am looking forwards to playing it again.

The campaign we are to start begins in 2050, and will be fairly gritty to begin. We have 550 karma points for karmagen with attributes costing 5pts per level. We are playing people trying to get out of the Redmond barrens, without loosing our humanity. I am taken with the idea of playing a free possessing spirit, as I have been role-playing since 1983 and haven't played anything like it!

I have already browsed this forum a bit, and would appreciate the community's views on the character.

My thoughts on the free spirit are, compared to a mage that can summon and control spirits are:

* You can use your spirit powers all the time, Mages can use them whenever they want but there is monetary and sometimes physical cost to them
* You are much weaker at magic than a mage as mages can use mentor spirits, cyber/bioware, foci and can claim magical services from bound spirits. This translates into much higher die pools for mages (both drain and spellcasting), and critically mages can sustain spells without it trashing their die pools
* The Spirit powers at high force are very nice. The mage can use them too (summon and control a high force spirit), but will likely suffer high drain, and can only use them carefully.
* The spirit has immunity to normal weapons, the mage has to make do with armour, the spell armour, combat reflexes, increase attribute [reaction] and camouflage (I beleive that you cannot have more than 20die so I will stop listing nice spells sustained by foci)
* The mage has more initiative passes (increase reactions sustained by a foci or spirit is a very nice spell)