Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Buying stock
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Stridyr
Hi, I'm relatively new to shadowrun. I was wondering, how would a person go around buying stock? I haven't been able to find it anywhere in any of the SR4 books. Might anyone be able to help out with this? Or atleast point me in the right direction?
ShadowWalker
I would imagine it would work the same way it does in the real world. Contact a broker. You would probably need the SINNER negative quality to do so. Taxes and such are a drag.
Stridyr
I guess the question is more of how to work out the availibility and prices.
Eratosthenes
QUOTE (Stridyr @ Jan 4 2011, 12:00 PM) *
I guess the question is more of how to work out the availibility and prices.

Unwired has rules for Escrow services and credit accounts. They tend to be 4-8R in availability. Stocks might be similar.

I imagine the 'R' is to reflect the need for a legitamite SIN. Not using your real SIN would be fraud.
Doc Chase
While it is certainly possible to buy and hold stock in the Shadowrun world, I would rather you consult your GM before talking to your broker about purchasing fictional stock in the Grim, Dark Future. wink.gif

The reason I say this is because it shifts the focus of the game, at times, to an economic simulator with far too few data points. Tell a player he has stock in a corporation and he will bug you incessantly about how much his stock is worth and ways to raise the price so he can get more money. This isn't to say that it's bad to have stock, but I've found that the shareholder perks one receives are often ignored in favor of "DID MY SHARE PRICE GO UP HUH DID IT DID IT DID IT?"

No, I've never seen this before. Not ever. No sir. Nuh uh. >.>