Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Quick Question on Control Thoughts Spell
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Volt875
Hi all, quick question here. Does the victim of a Control Thoughts spell know they are being controlled? Also what's the limit of what you can make some one do while under the spell? I'm still new to the magic side of things and one of my players insisted he play a mage (oh ya that was fun everyone else sitting around for 30 minutes to an hour while I franticly try to figure out how to answer all the guy's questions about it)

I'm asking because I have this horrible sense of impending cheap victories and abuse of the spell.
Summerstorm
The whole "Control" spells are totally insane. Also Suggestion, which can be massively worse (since it IMPLANTS an command - can't be found and dispelled after it is made permanent)

The way i see it it is this: You are likely to cast it on high force on somebody. He is likely to know that SOMETHING has been cast on him (as per rules for recognizing spells). After that he can't waste a thought on it though and will follow all directions.

When the spell fades or is dropped, he will know that he was controlled (or suspect that he is TRULY insane... and was a victim of an unrelated spell *g*).

Same with Mindprobe. They WILL know. Not perfectly WHAT happened maybe, but even without any magical training the people might have a very good idea.

This is why our mage also rewrites their memory after. Ridiculous combos which cuts through most legwork/detective work like butter.
Elfenlied
Note that it is a 6-Force of Spell to detect someone casting a spell, and nothing in RAW prevents cameras from recording it.

The easiest way to handle it is to play it straight. Lower level enemies might not have access to the restricted information the mage seeks. Higher echelons are usually accompanied by bodyguards, and maybe a bound spirit with counterspelling.
Aerospider