Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New to the Game
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Volscian_Camilla
Hello, everybody.
Yesterday, displaying a prodigious case of what may be called “foolhardy optimism,” I volunteered to GM a Shadowrun game for some friends. No problem, right? Well, not quite, as I come to the table with a couple of disadvantages:

1) I have never been a GM.
2) I have never played Shadowrun.

My friends gave me an overview of the setting—Shadowrun’s history at one point diverged from the one we know, and magic has come back with a vengeance. Terms like “cyberpunk,” “corps,” and “meta-human” flew fast and thick.

This forum was suggested to me as a place to begin my further education into Shadowrun and GMing, and since I could not find a specific thread for newbie GMs, I decided to start one here. So I ask you: where do I start? Are there books to buy? There was talk of novels that would help me get a feel for the place. I have some experience in playing D&D 3.5, if that information is useful to you.
Thank you in advance for all your help, and I look forward to working with you,

-Camilla
Paul
Start with an idea. What story do you want to tell? Once you've settled on that, start to flesh it out. You can literally type Shadowrun plot hooks into Google and get hundreds of premade scenarios if that helps. I'd also suggest the Sixth world wiki as a good point to start on the background.
Paul
if your friends don't have the books, and you're willing to invest I suggest a copy of the Main Book, or the Shadowrun 20th Anniversary Edition Main Book. The others are useful, but not actually needed for starting out. (And until you're sure you'll enjoy why by more than you need to.

The novels can be found at most local libraries as I understand it. Or cheaply if you're willing to invest at places like Schuler's or Barnes&Nobles; comic book shops and gaming shops sometimes carry them.
Critias