Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: My Halloween GMing adventure
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
JonathanC
I've tried to clean up the formatting to make this more readable. I'd love some comments from the more seasoned GMs here; I've been running Shadowrun in some capacity since about 2001 or so, but I wouldn't consider myself an expert. This is the story of how a halloween party lead to me getting roped into running On the Run for a group with a pretty wide range of experience, from total tabletop newbies to a guy who used to play with a some SR writers.

Mechanically, this was a mess. Some of the players were using old sheets they'd made for my previous game, so we retconned this in as a run that had happened prior to that game; this turned out perfectly, since that game started out with the players in prison, and this game wound up explaining how that happened perfectly

The mechanical mess occurred because the other players had to run with the sample characters from the Food Fight handout that was released a few years back for Free RPG Day. Among the many things not listed on these mini-sheets are Edge and Lifestyle. Likewise, the Hacker has Hacking and Hardware but no Computer skill. We didn't get bogged down in the rules though, because we were having too much fun.

I ran them through On The Run, and had we started the game on-time (we were supposed to all meet at 3pm) we might have gotten through the whole thing. Instead, some late arrivals and me having to duck out to pick up the pizza resulted in a late start, and we only got as far as grabbing Nabo's Commlink. But it was the road that got us there that was the important part.
[ Spoiler ]

Everyone agreed it was a damn good time.
DMiller
QUOTE (JonathanC @ Nov 3 2011, 05:46 AM) *
Everyone agreed it was a damn good time.

You did everything perfectly.

Mistakes will always happen, the biggest key is don't let them bring down the game.

2-thumbs up.

-D
JonathanC