Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Converting 1st ed to 4th ed
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
WVrunner
I have several 1st edition adventures. What would need to be done to make it over to 4th. Would I just have to update the weapons or is there more? I am new at running games but have played about 20 years ago. My players are relativly new. Thanks for the comments.

WVRunner
TeOdio
Thanks for joining the ranks! If you are super new to running the game, then running a published adventure is a great way to help you get pacing and structure to your games, as well as giving recommendations when things go awry. I recommend purchasing a couple of the Shadowrun Missions adventures to get you started. They are relatively cheap as they are PDF downloads, and there are a ton of them. After you and your group have a couple of those under your belt and you have a better understanding of the gear and opposition levels in the game, then I would start converting those oldie but goodies.
To convert, keep all of the fluff (ie. NPC names, legwork info, the overall plot of the adventure).
Take all of the crunch, and replace with a reasonable facsimile from 4th edition. (Replacing important antagonists with an Archetype from the main book, replacing lesser opposition with something equivalent from the main book.) You can tweak the gear, skills, and metatypes pretty easily if need be, but that will give you a quick and dirty solution to recreate what is published. The rule sets between 1st and 4th edition are so different I personally feel that even using a good conversion method (I'm sure someone here has made one based on the 3rd ed to 4th ed conversions) will still be too time consuming.