Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Tactical Analysis: new Matrix prog
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
mfb
after pondering the (insane, silly) effects of the BattleTac Matrixlink program, this occured to me.

Tactical Analysis
Size Multiplier: 10
The Tactical Analysis program acts as a Tactical Computer. The number of ports available are determined by the program rating: each dedicated port costs 1 point of rating, while each non-dedicated port costs 2. Dedicated and non-dedicated ports must be determined when writing the program; altering them is equivalent to raising the program rating by 1/4 its current value.
kerensky
Wow... just try to imagine the record sheet for that decker!!! You'd probably need a B.A. in Shadowrun rules to GM that player!
CardboardArmor
Hey man, I have a PhD in Shadowrun rules.

First, I got my BS. Then I got MS, then I started pilin' it high and deep. Heheheh.
A Clockwork Lime
What exactly do these ports port into? If it's not for use in the Matrix, then the program already "exists" in the form of the hardware and software of a Tactical Computer. If it's for inside, the only thing really appropriate are the Sensor ratings of the deck, so unless it was dedicated to a single deck, it would need the non-dedicated "ports" I guess.

But uh yeah... what's your intensions for it?
mfb
it could work inside or outside. i figure, there's no reason for a decker to install a computer in his skull, when there's already a perfectly good one sitting on his lap. ports could be used to take in your team's radio network, any enemy radio nets you crack, security cameras you hack into, etcetera. your deck's Sensor rating would act the same way as a drone's does, with a cybernetic TacComp.
Kanada Ten
Can you do a quick cost analysis on this Vs the TacComp?

Figure a dedicated Pocket Secretary as the base computer, plus the memory required, and then the program (Rating 6) Vs Tactical Computer (Rating 6)?
mfb