Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: help for a newbie?
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Morlonde
Hi guys. Im new to shadowrun and have been using 4.0 edition. Im looking to play the food fight adventure included in the quick start book. I have my head round the basics after reading the full rulebook, but am having trouble getting my head round the initiave phase and general combat machanics.

Do i have to ask my players to roll initiave every round?

As i understand it combat in shadowrun works using opposed test (rather than ac and other stat checks in d&d), but how do i fit weapons into this? And how do i calulate damage?

Are there any extra rules involved in mage or hacker combat? (Ie spells or a hacker trying to disable cybereyes or other cyberware)

In fact combat in general is a confusing minefeild, so any help on areas i have not covered would be a great help.

Any examples and explinations would be greatly appreciated.

And as my curiousity is peeked: what is dumpshock?
Udoshi
QUOTE (Morlonde @ Jan 13 2012, 02:10 AM) *
Hi guys. Im new to shadowrun and have been using 4.0 edition. Im looking to play the food fight adventure included in the quick start book. I have my head round the basics after reading the full rulebook, but am having trouble getting my head round the initiave phase and general combat machanics.

As i understand it combat in shadowrun works using opposed test (rather than ac and other stat checks in d&d), but how do i fit weapons into this? And how do i calulate damage?

Are there any extra rules involved in mage or hacker combat? (Ie spells or a hacker trying to disable cybereyes or other cyberware)

In fact combat in general is a confusing minefeild, so any help on areas i have not covered would be a great help.

Any examples and explinations would be greatly appreciated.