Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Starting low...
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Jeremiah Kraye
I wanted to hear opinions, thoughts and tips for starting new players and a new campaign.

I'm new to the system and I wanted to start our with the simplest rule-set for a set of newbies and a newbie GM (myself).

I was considering a low level campaign to get started and really feel the build (lower BP level) and only utilizing the base rulebook to start (maybe limiting availability of equipment).

Any thoughts or suggestions on this? What levels for BP, availability to start at? etc?
Bearclaw
To save a whole lot of time and struggle, you could start with the guys in the book. None of them are awesome, but if you played a few sessions using them, your players will have a feel of what's good and what's bad about them before they build their own guys.
I promise, if everyone is new, most will want new characters after their first couple of sessions anyway, cause stuff didn't work the way they thought it would.
Kyrel
I pretty much agree with Bearclaw on this, so I'll just add that if it comes to BP, the standard 400 for starter characters is pretty low key IMO, especially for some of the party roles.
Tymeaus Jalynsfein
And if Starting Character Skill levels bother you (the ability to be the best of the best) just restrict the level of skills at the start.

Instead of One at 6 or two at 5, use one at 5 or two at 4, or even more restrictive use one at 4, or two at 3 (with Groups at 3 or 2 Respectively). Restrict availability of gear to 8 or lower, etc.

400 BP is not the problem, it is the limit to which you can spend it that potentially is, assuming you do not want Best in the world characters for a single skill to start with. This will also tend to provide better rounded characters as they can afford more lower level skills at that point.
Jeremiah Kraye
QUOTE (Tymeaus Jalynsfein @ Jun 12 2012, 05:29 PM) *