Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Question about B&E characters vs magic security
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Kirschkern
Hi there

I recently started playing SR4 and decided do go for a character that can go in and out without being seen or having to shoot someone. Having played D&D for many many years I foolishly thought if there is a magic way to detect things, there must be a way to magicly fool these mechanism.
So I made a mystic adept. Probably not the best character for B&E as it turns out but it somewhat resembled my unseen seer (for those of you familiar with D&D 3.5) smile.gif. And to make matters worse he has sustaining foci.

On the first job the target location was guarded by a simple watcher. As I understand these kind of spirits are dirt cheap and it seems most valueable targets will at least be guarded by one patroling the area.
How are B&E characters supposed to work when spirits as simple as watchers can see you no matter what ?
The FAQ only seems to be handling infiltration on the astral plane vs other astral beings.

So I need some help on the matter ! What can I do to hide from that sort of guards ?
  • Does the infiltration skill work at all ?
  • Do I need to be astral percieving ?
  • Is there anything nuyen can buy to help me on the matter (drugs, armor ...)
  • Any nondectect spell for this purpose ?
  • Any Adeptpower for this purpose ?
  • Does the conceal power from summoned spirits protect me from dectection ?

I would greatly appreciate any help on this character because if there is no way I don't really see a point in playing him :/

Lionhearted
Being a mystic adept you got this neat little skill called banishing it tends to make spirits homesick.
Also worth mentioning is that even on the astral you cant see through walls and watchers are thick as mince, wearing a sign saying "not an intruder" would probably work... if he could read