Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Attribute limits vs. Gear limits
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Dragon835
Hi Everyone!

I'm new to 5th Edition, but not to Shadowrun. I've been playing 1st thru 3rd for decades. I gave 4th a pass, but I'm smitten by the (very similar) 5th Edition.

That said, I have a question about one specific example. On pg. 47 of the PDF version, the example given with Takouba using his shotgun brings up a point that I either have misunderstood, or disagree with. To paraphrase, it says that once a weapons accuracy limit exceeds his physical limit, the higher accuracy limit is now what the player uses as the maximum number of allowable hits.

I'm confused by this, and here's why. It would seem (to me at least) that no matter how accurate a weapon may be, a character can only shoot so well. For example, if a young man were to purchase a modern high performance sport motorcycle, he can only ride it to his ability, not the exceedingly high potential built into the machine, i.e. his physical limit is still his limit even though his equipment has much higher limits.

Can someone please explain or give me another example?

Thank you very much in advance!

Tim
Sendaz
Well the young man in question is only going to have so much stat and skill in riding the vehicle and yes you would be correct in thinking his physical limit is his baseline limit for most such endeavours .