Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: SR1 to SR2 Changes
Dumpshock Forums > Discussion > Shadowrun
Aerospider
Hi guys. I've been running SR on and off for about 20 years now – started at 2nd edition and upgraded to 3rd and then 4th.
I'm about to be afforded a gloriously rare opportunity to be a player for once in an upcoming campaign, but it's going to use 1st edition.

It would be amazingly helpful if anybody who can remember that far back and/or still has the books could outline the changes in rules and setting between SR1 and SR2, since that's the transition I never had to make. I don't need every little detail, as the GM has ALL the books (I'm told) and will be doing one-on-one chargens when the time comes, but it would be good to start planning my character and know what I'm getting into.

Please note – I'm fine with changes after 2nd edition (like the loss of variable TN), I just don't know how things were before it.

Many thanks!
Bigity
The rules are similiar, but also have major changes.

First - damage codes. In SR1 a pistol may have a code of something like 6M3. This means the power is 6 (as 2nd), damage is moderate (as 2nd), but it takes THREE success to stage damage UP or DOWN. So some weapons can do more damage easily but are also resisted more easily.

Second - Armor. Armor in 1st did not reduce power, it granted a number of automatic successes for damage resistance. So a Lined Coat with 4 ballistic meant you had 4 successes in a DR test outside of your Body roll.

Third - Some of the die pools worked differently in calculation and such. I am fuzzy on remembering specifics.

Fourth - Spells You had to choose Force/Rating and damage codes. So a Fireball (Force 5 Moderate damage) was a completely different spell than Fireball (Force 4 Light damage). Treat 4 was a different spell than Treat 5. (This may have worked the same in 2nd but not certain.) Same with Matrix attack programs IIRC (Attack 6D vs Attack 4S).